Toure, Drogba and Mikel: Who wins Africa’s best player Award tonight

Source: Ghana | | Benedict Owusu
Date: 09-01-2014 Time: 10:01:57:am

Africa will later today find out the best player on the continent for the year 2013 at a gala in Lagos, Nigeria.

Ivory Coast and Manchester City midfielder Yaya Toure remained on course to be named African Footballer of the Year for a record-equaling third successive time.

First time nominee John Mikel Obi who plays for Chelsea will attempt to unseat reigning player Yaya Toure and former winner Didier Drogba.

In a year where national team football accolades will be key to the award, Mikel Obi should expect to get a favourable look in by the coaches of the 53 national associations that make up the voting pool.

In other categories for the award Burkina Faso, Ethiopia and Nigeria will be vying for the National Team of the Year award.

The Club of the Year will either go to Egyptian giants Al Ahly, CS Sfaxien of Tunisia or Orlando Pirates of South Africa.

The CAF Fair Play Award will go to the Nigerian Supporters. With the Coach of the Year, we have Manu Garba who guided the Nigerian U-17 team to win their fourth World title at the U-17 World Cup in UAE last year.

The boss Stephen Keshi is also in there after helping the Super Eagles conquer Africa last year at the Nations Cup in South Africa and Burkina Faso Coach Paul Put is the last man completing that category. 

You must be logged in to post a comment Login