Sene East Assembly elects Catechist as Presiding Member

Kajaji, (B/A), Oct. 7, GNA – The 30-member Sene East District Assembly has elected Mr Frederick Ofornnyi Nkrumah, a Catechist at Kajaji, as its Presiding Member (PM).

Mr Nkrumah, 42, and Assemblyman for Gyemoae Electoral Area, was declared victorious after his only contender Mr Johnson Oduro Yeboah, a government appointee, withdrew from the race.

The Assembly had earlier failed to elect a PM after three rounds of voting, since none of the contestants was unable to secure the required two-thirds of votes.

Mr Nkrumah, however, secured 24 votes for his confirmation, and thanked the delegates for the confidence reposed in him.

He said without the co-operation of the Assembly members, his work would be difficult, and asked them to guard against selfishness and personal interest during deliberations.

Mr John Alexander Ackon, the Deputy Minister of Gender, Children and Social Protection, commended the Assembly members for their understanding and unity.

He asked them to always respect the views of one another, and work in harmony to help address the needs of their constituents.

Mr Kofi Baah, the Sene East District Chief, said he appreciated the level of political maturity exhibited by the Assembly members

Mr Baah was optimistic that such co-operation would be strengthened.

Meanwhile, the Sene West District Assembly was unsuccessful to elect its PM.

None of the two contestants, Nana Okyere Santo the fourth, Baamuhene of the Dwan Traditional Area, a government appointee, and Mr Latif Mohammed, Assemblyman for the Wiri Kofi Electoral Area, was able to obtain the required votes after three rounds of voting.

The EC, therefore, postponed the election.

More Politics »

This article has 0 comment, leave your comment.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login