Prosper Bani Rejoins Cabinet

Prosper Bani

Prosper Bani

The former chief of Staff, Mr. Prosper Douglas Bani has been appointed a Cabinet Minister following the reshuffle made by President John Dramani Mahama yesterday. He takes over from Mr. Mark Woyongo as the minister for Interior, while the latter has been reassigned to the presidency.

Hours after the announcement, the NDC’s World Bank, Volta Region, applauded President Mahama over the appointment of the former Chief of Staff, Mr. Prosper Douglas Bani as the minister designate for Interior.

Those in the Northern Region are, however, unhappy with the transfer of Alhaji Mohammed Muniru Limuna from the region to the Agric Ministry as a cabinet minister. According to the NDC, the president could rely on the vast experience and competence of Prosper Bani.

The regional secretary of the NDC, Mr. Simon Amegashie-Viglo in a statement urged the nominee if approved to do his best to strengthen the party in the region for victory in 2016. “We write on behalf of the NDC in the Volta Region to congratulate you, Prosper Bani, on your appointment as the minister designate for Interior.

“We believe your appointment is an expression of the President’s confidence and trust in your capacity to help the government to succeed. We also believe that the President has taken notice of your huge sacrifices for and commitment to the party in the Volta region since you left office as the Chief of Staff.

“We trust that you will use your position as the Minister of the Interior to further strengthen the party to ensure our victory in November 2016 general elections. Accept our congratulations,” the statement added. The president has also appointed Mr. Kenneth Wujangi, a Management and Integrated Rural Development Specialist as a Deputy Chief of Staff (Operations) at the Flagstaff House.

A statement signed by Chief of Staff, Julius Debrah, further announced the nomination of the following as Ministers of State:  Edwin Nii Lante Vanderpuye (MP)-Minister Designate for Youth & Sports, John Alexander Ackon – Minister Designate for the Ashanti Region, Kweku Ricketts Hagan (MP)- Minister Designate for the Central Region and Mavis Ama Frimpong- Minister Designate for the Eastern Region, Abdallah Abubakari- Minister Designate for the Northern Region and Hon. Albert Abongo (MP)- Minister Designate for the Upper East Region.

The following have also been nominated as Deputy Ministers of State: Andy Osei Okrah- Deputy Minister Designate for the Ashanti Region and Robert Baba Kuganab-Lem- Deputy Minister Designate for the Upper East Region.

The statement also announced the appointment of Hon. Franklin Fiavi Fifi Kwetey (MP) as Minister for Transport while Alhaji Mohammed Muniru Limuna is the new Minister for Food & Agriculture.  Mark Woyongo (MP) has meanwhile been reassigned to the Presidency as Minister of State.

More Politics »

This article has 0 comment, leave your comment.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login