President Mahama swears-in seven ministers

Accra, Feb. 26, GNA – President John Dramani Mahama on Friday swore-in seven ministers and called on them to discharge their duties with impartiality, modesty and humility.

He said as members of a social democratic party, there was the need to adhere to those values so as to ensure that all Ghanaians enjoyed the national cake by spreading development projects to their respective areas.

The ministers are; Mr Prosper Douglas Bani, Minister of the Interior, Edwin Nii Lante Vanderpuije, Minister of Youth and Sports, John Alexander Ackon, Ashanti Regional Minister and Kweku Ricketts Hagan, Central Regional Minister.

The rest are; Marvis Ama Frimpong, Eastern Regional Minister, Abdullah Abubakar, Northern Regional Minister and Albert Abongo, Upper East Regional Minister.

The ministers swore the oaths of Office, Secrecy and Allegiance.

President Mahama advised the regional ministers to uphold the social protection programme such as school feeding programme, and the Livelihood Empowerment Against Poverty to minimise the level of poverty and deprivation especially in the rural areas.

He said as heads of the Regional Coordinating Councils, the regional ministers needed to help eliminate the bureaucracies that stifled the smooth implementation of government projects and programmes.

He reminded them to work tactfully with security agencies in their respective regions to ensure adequate peace and security before, during and after the 2016 general election.

Mr Prosper Douglas Bani, Minister of the Interior, on behalf of his colleagues, thanked President Mahama for appointing them to their various positions.

He gave the assurance that they would work hard to justify the confidence reposed in them.


More Politics »

This article has 0 comment, leave your comment.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login