Osei Prempeh, ‘Wuntumi’ In Fierce Battle For Ashanti NPP Chair

Hon. Osei Prempeh

Hon. Osei Prempeh

Coming Saturday, January 25, 2014, the New Patriotic Party will go to congress across the country to elect its regional executives, who will be charged with the task of leading the party’s agenda of returning to power in the 2016 general election.

With the various constituency elections having been done without any major hitches, the road is now clear for the regional elections.

The contest in the Ashanti Region has attracted a lot of interest and attention in view of the fact that the region remains the ‘World Bank’ of the party.

So far, 37 people, including eight women, are contesting the ten vacant positions in the party, with the position of the chairman seen as the highlight of the election.

The incumbent chairman, Frederick Freduah Antoh, is not contesting, making the contest a two-man race between a former deputy Minister of Justice and Attorney General, Kwame Osei Prempeh, and 36 year-old business mogul and former Bosomtwe constituency chairman of the party, Bernard Antwi Boasiako, aka Wuntumi.

Mr Osei Prempeh’s core message to the delegates is that he is politically more mature, having served in government as a deputy minister and MP for three terms, to exercise the required influence over all the various actors in the NPP to ensure effective human and logistical mobilisation to position the region better to spearhead the NPP to victory in the 2016 elections.

On the other hand, supporters of Mr Antwi Boasiako say he is better positioned to ‘stop’ the NDC’s electoral manipulations in the region and face them ‘boot for boot’ with his ‘uncompromising and radical approach’ to political campaigning. They believe winning the Ashanti region massively in the 2016 elections is not ‘a matter of gentility.’

Unlike the incumbent Chairman, Samuel Pyne is seeking re-election as the Secretary. He is facing a stiff opposition from Alex Opoku-Mensah, a tutor and a member of the party’s regional communication team, Baffour Kojo Asiedu and Abena Pokuaa Amoah, a former parliamentary aspirant in the Ejisu-Juaben constituency.

Three persons are vying for the position of 1st vice chairman. They are Abdul Raul, Henry Osei Kwabena, the incumbent, and James Adusei-Sarkodie.

George Owusu, Beatrice Serwaa-Derkyi, Ben Abdella, Frank Bona-Boakye and Andrews Oti Boamah are competing for the 2nd vice chairmanship post, in a competition expected to generate much excitement.

In the Assistant Secretary contest, five men are in the race, which is also expected to bring more surprises. They are Nana Kwame Gyamfi, Nelson Owusu Ansah, a former KNUST-TESCON president, Karikari Richard, Victor Osei poku and Manaf Ibrahim.

Augustine Owusu Appiah is facing stiff competition from two women, Hagar Asante, the incumbent, and Zeinabu Sallow for the position of Treasurer.

Another area that is drawing much excitement is the position of the Women’s Organiser, as four women, all seen as equals, are vying that post to replace the incumbent who is not seeking re-election.

They are Nana Ama Pomaa, the Bantama constituency Women’s Organiser, Marry Brobbey, former regional Women’s Organiser, Nana Konadu Osei Assibey Nsafoah, a founding member of Free Education Now Prayer Group, and Beatrice Owusu, the Kwabre West Women’s Organiser of the party.

Current Organiser, Kennedy Kwasi Kankam, is hoping for re-election, but has to undo the challenge of David Irwin Osei, party communicator, and Asamoah Peter.

For the regional youth organiser, there appears to be a straight fight between Dennis Kwakwa, former Mampong constituency youth Organiser, and Justice Kodua, an appointed regional youth organiser, but Kwaku Frimpong many pull a surprise.

For the post of the Nasara chairman, Mohammed Abdul Hamid, Allaru Sallu and Khamid Suleman are determined to unseat Ali Musa ‘Zingi’.

Party officials have told the New Statesman that so far, all is set for a smooth congress on Saturday, with accreditation, security being taken care off.

Leave a comment. 0 comment so far.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login