NPP Rakes In GH¢17, 500 …From Nomination Forms In B/A

The Brong-Ahafo Regional office of the opposition New Patriotic Party has raised  GH¢17, 500 as nomination fees from a total of 31 contestants.

As at 5:00pm on Friday, January 10, 2014, the regional office was busy working on nominations forms of candidates successfully submitted with the required fees.

Out of the 31 nomination forms received, four (4) persons filed for the position of the regional chairmanship, which attracted a filing fee of GH¢1000 each, with the remaining nine positions going for  GH¢500 each.

The four candidates vying for the chairmanship position include the incumbent Regional Chairman, Kwaku Asomah-Cheremeh, a former Regional Chairman, Kwadwo Yeboah Fordjour,  a former Municipal Chief Executive of Sunyani, Kwame Twumasi Awuah and  Mr. Joseph Kwaku Adjei.

A former Member of Parliament (MP) for Asutifi North, Paul Okoh, Mr. Joseph Yaw Appiah and Thomas Adu-Appiah would be competing with the incumbent, Shaibu Musa Bamba and two others in the first vice-chairmanship race.

The second vice-chairmanship race has Mr. Kwame Aidoo, Ernest Kusi-Duah, Mr. Mensah Joseph and Mr. Dwomo Mensah Robert competing with the incumbent Alfred Ofori Annye for the Regional Secretary position.

The position of a deputy Regional Secretary would be a straight battle between a former Regional communication director, Kofi Ofosu Boateng and Jephtah Appau.

A former long term serving Regional Organizer, Kofi Darko,  aka ‘Old Soldier Never Die’ has resurfaced to take back his position after losing it to Mr. Yaw Debie four years ago.

However, Mr. Kofi Darko would still have it tough despite the absence of Mr. Debie, since there are four other equally competent challengers in the race, including Bartholomew Inkoom Nathaniel, Ali Maiga Halidu, Aaron Obiri Korang and Kwadwo Agyekum.

The former Regional Women Organizer, Felicia Adomah Peprah is poised to take back her position which she lost to the incumbent Justina Owusu-Banahene, but the race which was initially between the two, now has Mrs. Dorothy Ama Amponsah joining.

Gausu Mohammed Baba, Kwame Baffoe, Michael Osei Boateng and the incumbent Nana Sekyere Boateng would compete for the Youth Organizer position, whilst Mr. Kwaku Boadi-Kwakye competes with Alhaji Issaka Issah for the position of Treasurer.

The NASARA Coordinator position race is between Alhaji Adamu Mohammed and Alhaji Ibrahim Ahmed Abass.

The Brong-Ahafo Regional Elections Committee Secretary, Mr. Sah Joachim Kwaku has however called on the candidates to conduct their campaign with the sense of decency in order not to give weapons to the opponents to be use against the NPP during the 2016 elections.

Leave a comment. 0 comment so far.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login