New Juaben zonal and unit committees inaugurated

Koforidua, Feb. 13, GNA – Twenty unit committees and 15 zonal councils were inaugurated in the New Juaben Municipal Area on Friday.

The zonal councils and the unit committees are sub structures of the Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies and are responsible for mobilizing people in their electoral areas for local governance activities.

Speaking at the ceremony, the Municipal Chief Executive (MCE), Mr Kwabena Okyere Kusi advised members of the unit committees and the zonal councils to desist from politicizing their activities as they seek to mobilize their people to support development projects in the communities.

He called on members to work closely with the Assembly to help generate more revenues to support the development of the Municipality.

Mr Kusi urged members to bury their differences when it comes to political issues and rally behind the government for accelerated development.

He entreated members to maintain closed contacts with their electorate and seek their views and opinions on prevailing concerns.

Meanwhile, Mr Selassie Amuzu, the Assembly Member for the Community ‘D’ Electoral Area was elected and sworn in as the Chairman of the Zongo Zonal Council.


More Politics »

This article has 0 comment, leave your comment.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login