Ghana wins nothing at 2015 Africa Magic Viewer’s Choice Awards

Ghanaian nominees at this year’s Africa Magic Viewer’s Choice Awards (AMVCA) left the Eko Hotel Convention Centre in Lagos, Nigeria, venue for the awards the same way they entered- empty handed.

The Ghanaians lost out on every nominated category to their Nigerian counterparts, who carried through an impressive ‘host’ and ‘win’ agenda to the letter.

They swept every single award up for grabs on the night prompting dejected Ghanaians, who attended a special viewing ceremony at the Labadi Beach Hotel Saturday night, to ask the organizers to declare the awards a Nigeria movie awards.

Ghanaian nominees – Shirley Frimpong-Manso, Lydia Forson, Adjetey Anang, Zynnell Zuh, Joselyn Dumas Nana Akua Manso, Duaba Serwaa, Ophelia Crosslands and David Amah were not match for the Nigerians who garnered more votes to sweep the awards.

In a ceremony that witnessed performances from Diamond, Don Jazzy and the Mavin Crew, 2face Idibia and P-Square, Nigerian film maker, Kunle Afolayan’s October 1 and The Meeting emerged the biggest winners bagging 8 and 5 awards respectively.

Full list of winners below:
Best Actor in a Comedy
The Interview (Frank Donga) – Kunle Idowu
Winner- The Meeting – Femi Jacobs
Meet the Adebanjos – Wale Ojo
Horn Free Day- Kelechi Udegbe
Fundi-Mentals – Gerald Langiri
The Last 3 Digits- Nonso Diobi
Best Actress in a Comedy
Folly – Joke Silva
When Love Happens – Weruche Opia
Winner- The Meeting – Rita Dominic
A Letter from Adam – Lydia Forson
I Come Lagos – Nse Ikpe Etim
Best Actor in a Drama
A Place in the Stars – Gideon Eche-Okeke
Honeymoon Hotel – IK Ogbonna
Unforgivable – Mike Ezuruonye
Devil In The Detail – Adjetey Anang
Brave – Wole Ojo
Confusion Na Wa – OC Ukeje
Winner- Secret Room – O.C Ukeje
Best Actress in a Drama
Make.A.Move – Ivie Okujaye
Iyore – Rita Dominic
A Place in the Stars – Amaka Mgbor
Love or Something like That – Joselyn Dumas
Winner- October 1 – Kehinde Bankole
Reflections – Aisha Kamara
Best Art Director (Movie/ TV)
Winner- October 1 – Pat Nebo
Secret Room – Crey Ahanonu/Simon Peacemaker
Veve – Ayako Bertolli
Verdict            – Stanlee Ohikhuare
Prince of Barmah – Frank Rajah Arase
Best Cinematographer (Movie/ TV)
October 1 – Yinka Edward
A Place in the Stars – John Demps/ Harald Beeker/ Manuel Lapiere

The Antique – Dj Tee
Winner- Verdict – Stanlee Ohikhuare
Secret Room – Lukman Abdulraman/Simon Peacemaker
Best Comedy Writer (Movie/ TV)
Winner- The Meeting – Tunde Babalola
Clinic Matters Episode 203 – Adekunle Salawu
When Love Comes Around – Zynnell Zuh and David Amah

When Love Happens – Seyi Babatope/Diche Enuwa/Temitope Bolade

A Letter from Adam – Lydia Forson
 Best Costume Designer (Movie/ TV)
Winner- October 1 – Deola Sagoe/Obijei Oru

Dazzling Mirage – Adebimpe Adebambo
Rush TV Series            -Tiona Wangechi
Love or Something like That – Nana Akua Manso
Under Your Skin – Ngozi Jombo
Best Documentary
Winner- The Gift of the Nile – Yvonne Bassey

These Past Times – Katman
Shashamane Southern Ethiopia – Yvonne Bassey
Paradox Of Life – Katman Dayil
The Masai Mara Adventure – Yvonne Bassey
Best Drama Writer (Movie/ TV)
A Place in the Stars – Ita Hozaife And J.K. Amalou
Devil in the Detail – Shirley Frimpong-Manso
Iyore – Frank Rajah Arase
Yellow Cassava – Damijo Efe Young
Winner- October 1 – Tunde Babalola
Best Lighting Designer
Winner- October 1 – Lanre Omofaye
The Antique – Dj Tee
Verdict            – Stanlee Ohikhuare
Fundi-Mentals – John Wambugu
Tales of Eve – Caged Tajudeen Abdulazeez
Best Local Language Hausa
Winner Bincike – Hafizu Bello/Abubakar Bashir

Maja    – Abba Miko Yakassai
Shagun Doka – Andrew Ohio Ohiorenoya
Mai Farin Jini –            Uzee Concept
Ni Da Matata –            Abba Miko Yakassai
Best Local Language Igbo
B For Boy -Uche Nwa dili
Winner- Onye Ozi (The Messenger) -Obi Emelonye

Har Da Mijina – Uzee Concept
Olanma – Onyekachukwu Okeke
Saint Ossai – Collins Ezenwa
 Best Local Language SWAHILI
Network – John Kallage
Winner- Veve – Sarika Hemi Lakhani
Mama Duka    – Njoki Muhoho
Almasi – Almasi
Mdundiko – Timothy Conrad
Best Local Language YORUBA
Olosa   – Temitayo Adeniyi
Dagbere – Oluwole Cole
Dada Oni Paki -Fidelis Duker
Alakada 2 – Alakada2
Winner- Iya Alalake – Faithia Balogun

Best Make-Up Artist
Winner- October 1 – Lola Maja
Verdict            – Stanlee Ohikhuare
Iyore – Matthew Alechenu Hyacient
A Place In The Stars – Chinwem Elevoh / Sandra Udoewah

The Meeting – Juliette Okoli
Best Movie (Comedy)
A Letter from Adam – A Letter From Adam
Winner- The Meeting – Mildred Okwo
30 Days in Atlanta – 30 Days In Atlanta
Jand Hustle – Ehizojie Ojesebholo
Best Movie (Drama)
Devil in the Detail – Devil in the Detail
Invasion 1897 – Lancelot Oduwa Imasuen
Secret Room   – Simon Peacemaker/ Crey Ahanonu
Winner- A Place in the Stars  – A Place In The Stars

October 1 – Kunle Afolayan
Make.A.Move – Make.A.Move
Best Movie Director
Invasion 1897 – Lancelot Oduwa Imasuen
A Place in the Stars – Steve Gukas
Secret Room – Eneaji Chris
Verdict            – Stanlee Ohikhuare
Potomanto – Potomanto
Winner- October 1- Kunle Afolayan
Best New Media-Online
Verdict – Stanlee Ohikhuare
Ogas at the Top – Marie Lora-Mungai
Leeway – Eric Aghimien
Winner- Hard Times – Imoh Umoren
Between The Lines – Likarion Wainaina
Best Movie Of 2014
Invasion 1897 – Lancelot Oduwa Imasuen
Yellow Cassava – Zeb Ejiro
Winner- October 1 – Kunle Afolayan
A Place in the Stars – A Place In The Stars
Iyore – Frank Rajah Arase
Best Short Film
Verdict            – Stanlee Ohikhuare
Not Right – Not Right
Brave – Lowladee (Adeleke Dolapo)
Winner- Oblivious – Kiki Omeili
The Throne – Jibril Mailafia
Best Sound Editing
A Place in the Stars – Susan Penington
Winner- October 1 – Kulanen Ikyo
Render To Caesar – Michael Ogunlade
Gidi Up – Muhammed Atta & Jadesola Osiberu
Love or Something like That   Kofi Boachie-Ansah
The Antique – Flo
Best Video Editor
A Place in the Stars – Antonio Ribeiro
Veve – Roselidah Taabu Obala
October 1 – Mike Steve-Adeleye
Devil in the Detail – Nana Akua Manso
Winner- Reflections – Victoria Akujobi

Best Supporting Actress
30 Days in Atlanta – Ada Ameh
Winner- The Meeting – Linda Ejiofor
30 Days in Atlanta – Mercy Johnson
Gidi Up – Iretiola Doyle
Confusion Na Wa – Tunde Aladese
 Best Supporting Actor
A Place in the Stars – Segun Arinze
30 Days in Atlanta – Richard Mofe Damijo
Iyore – Yemi Blaq
Winner- Knocking On Heaven’s Door – Blossom Chukwujekwu

When Love Happens – O. C. Ukeje
Best Television Series
The Xyz Show – Godfrey  Mwampembwa
Winner- Shuga
Rush TV Series – Rush Series
Gidi Up – Jadesola Osiberu
Maliposa – Mingeli Palata Story by Ghana | | Ernest Dela Aglanu (Twitter: @delaXdela / Instagram: citizendela)

More General News »

This article has 0 comment, leave your comment.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login