Ghana Muslims Achievers Awards Launched

The first edition of the first Ghana Muslims Achievers Awards has been launched inside Nima on Tuesday.

Organizers of the event Sukura Concepts who are known for promoting socio-economic development, empowerment of society through the powerful tool of film and theater productions disclosed that the Ghana Muslims Achievers Awards (GMAA) seeks to correct the wrong perception of Ghanaians about the zongo communities and celebrate hard working individuals who are known to have grown or still in the zongo communities.

The main aim of the awards is to recognize and reward people from Zongos who are contributing to national development.

Also to Inspire and motivate younger generation to emulate such contributions for national growth and finally to Promote and deepen national integration, cohesion and support for Muslim causes.

The Ghana Muslims Awards are in two (2) categoriesLifetime Achievement Awards & General Awards.

According to them the lifetime awards are non-voting and nominees are carefully selected by event organizers and Award Board to celebrate iconic personalities and entities for outstanding contribution to national life while the general awards are public voting-based awards. They are open to Ghanaian Muslims who are nominated.

Below is the full list of the nominees and Nominations for the GMAA. The Public can vote using the short code 1446.


1. Lifetime Achievement Award (Individual Honoree);

  • Alpha Ejura
  • Malam Maikano (Jaloo)
  • Sheikh Naasir (nyaakrom)
  • Sheikh Umar Karki
  • Sheikh Kamaldeen

2. Lifetime Achievement Award (Corporate/Entrepreneur)

  • Alhaji Adamu Global
  • Dr. Alhaji Gibrine Adam
  • Sheikh Amin Bonsu
  • Yussif Darrel Salem

3.Lifetime Achievement Award (Education)

  • Islamic University College of Ghana (IUCG)
  • Ambariya Islamic School
  • TI Ahmadiyya School
  • Azhariah Islamic school

4. Lifetime Achievement Awards (Sports and Entertainment)

  • Mohammed Polo
  • Abdul Razaq Golden boy
  • Ibrahim Sunday
  • Sani Abdullahi

5. Lifetime Achievement Awards (Civil Servant/Public Servant)

  • Alhaji Mahama Iddrisu
  • Hajia Laami Futa
  • Rear Admiral Tahiru
  • Mohammed Alhassan (IGP)


6. Lifetime Achievement Awards (Zongo Chief)

  • Chief Abdul Kaadir Tahiru
  • Chief Alhaji Umar Baba Issah
  • Chief Yussif Hussein Fanyinamah
  • Chief Kabiru Abdul Kadir English

7.Business of the Year (non-Muslim owned business yet having undertaken numerous CSR support for Muslim causes

  • Ken city
  • MTN
  • GN group
  • Linda Dor

8.Sports Personality of the Year

  • Dede Ayew
  • Mubarak Wakasu
  • Baba Rahman
  • Mohammed Rabiu

9.Creative Arts Personality of the Year (Music, Movie)

  • Abdul Salam Mumuni (Venus Films)
  • Hawa Mei Zango
  • Bala Meikankan
  • Ahmed Banda (Bandex)

10.Media Personality of the Year

  • Abdul Hayi Moomen (GTV)
  • Alhasan Bagya, (TV3)
  • Rashida Nasamo (ETV)
  • Hawa Suleiman Issah (TV Africa)
  • Umar Sanda (City fm)

11.Muslim Programme of the Year

  • Iqra (TV3)
  • Yaala Yaala (ATV)
  • Mushakata (Alpha Radio)
  • Abare Ya Houce-Sarawta (Marhaba FM)
  • Fadin Gaskia (Zuria FM)

12.Muslim NGO of the year

  • Ghana Muslim Academy
  • Islamic Council for development and Humanitarian Services (ICHODEHS)
  • Federation of Muslim Women Association of Ghana (FOMWAG)
  • Paragon Foundation

13.Political Personality of the Year

  • Dr. Mahmud Bawumia,
  • Hon. Haruna Iddriss
  • Hon. Mahama Ayariga
  • Hon. KT Hammond

14.Social Activist of the Year

  • Abdul Malik Kwaku Baako
  • Usman Bari
  • Alhaji Halidu Zuria FM,
  • RM Gomda

15.Female Personality of the Year

  • Hajia Yasmin Appiedu
  • Dr Rabiatu Ammah
  • Hajia Boya
  • Hajia Katumi Mahama

16.Muslim of the year

  • Sheikh Bashiru Yandu
  • Sheikh Mallam Duudu
  • Sheikh Bayan Mallam Basshar
  • Abul Faidi Khaleefah Jaloo
More General News »

This article has 0 comment, leave your comment.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login