Ghana Movie Awards Tonight

The 2015 edition of Ghana Movie Awards will come off at the Accra International Conference Centre tonight.

Ghanaian filmmakers, who have excelled in 2015, would be honoured at the event.

And as usual, the crème de la crème of the Ghanaian movie screens will be on the red carpet to display their classy outfits.

Nominations for the movie awards ceremony were released on December 18, 2015, with ‘Beasts of No Nation’ topping the list with 16 nominations.

British film ‘The Cursed Ones’ placed second with 15 nominations. Ghana’s emotional epic, If Tomorrow Never Comes followed with 14 nominations.

Each of the three movies got nominations in Best Picture, Directing, Sound Editing and Mixing, Cinematography, Production Design and other categories.

Eddie Nartey, Yvonne Nelson and Prince David Osei raised concerns about certain movies that were nominated.

They argued that those productions were not Ghanaian enough to compete in Ghana.

Organisers, they said, could have created international categories for such movies.

The development caused some division among industry stakeholders with observers raising questions about tonight’s event.

Stakeholders doubt whether British actor Idris Elba will attend the Ghana Movie Awards tonight.

Others wonder whether Ghana’s Yvonne Nelson, Prince David Osei, Eddie Nartey, Yvonne Okoro, who complained about the awards ceremony, would boycott the event. People will have to patiently wait for tonight to find answers.

2015 Ghana Movie Awards is being organized by GP Productions Limited to honour excellence in Ghana’s movie industry.

The most anticipated categories for the ceremony include Best Picture, Best Actor and Actress In Leading Roles, which often made the headlines. Interestingly, there is stiff competition in these categories.

British actor, Oris Erhuero, Ghana’s Prince David Osei, Adjetey Anang, Abraham Attah and Henry Adofo are all competing for Best Actor In Leading role category.

Jimmy Jean-Louis, Idris EIba, Van Vicker, Emmanuel Affadzi and James Gardiner on the other hand are competing for Best Actor in supporting role category.

Yvonne Nelson, Lydia Forson, Nadia Buari, Martha Ankomah and Joselyn Dumas were nominated for Best Actress in Lead Role category.

By Francis Addo (Twitter: @fdee50 Email: [email protected] )

More General News »

This article has 0 comment, leave your comment.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login