Edward Mahama Makes Comeback

Most candidates perceived to be supported by Hassan Ayariga could not survive the party’s Northern Regional congress held at Tamale recently.

The development suggests that the membership of the People’s National Congress (PNC) wants a change.

Perhaps the biggest news in the party is the comeback of Dr. Edward Mahama, who is reported to have picked nomination forms to contest the flagbearership position of the party.

Hassan Ayariga, who seeks to contest the flagbearership position again, might not survive it this time round with Edward Mahama in the ring.

The defeated aspirants tagged as Hassan Ayariga boys include the former Northern Regional Communications Director, Seidu Abdulai Napodoo, who contested the Secretary position, Mashoud Ibrahim Abiola who vied for the Treasurer position, Sulemana Abukari, the Regional Youth Organizer position and Adam Hussein alias die good, who vied for the regional Communications Director position.

Seidu Abdulai Napodoo, in a Citi News interview confessed, ‘Actually we are Hassan Ayariga’s boys or we are in his camp and we have lost because of Hassan Ayariga.’

‘Our colleagues from the other side told the delegates that Hassan Ayariga used the party to amass wealth and they are saying that he is a joker and it is left to him to work towards these allegations.’

Seidu Abdulai Napodoo implored Hassan Ayariga to work towards redeeming his image.

‘We have heard that all the seven regions that have held their regional congresses all those Hassan Ayariga tipped to run the affairs of the various regions have all lost.’

Continuing, he said
‘So it is an indication to us as his boys and he himself as a flagbearer aspirant to sit up and work towards achieving his aim of becoming the PNC flag bearer again.’

About 178 PNC delegates cast their votes at the Tamale Sports Stadium and elected new regional executives.

The PNC’s long-time presidential candidate, Dr. Edward Nasigri Mahama graced the occasion.

For the flagbearer position those who picked nomination forms were Hassan Ayariga, Michael Osei Bonsu, Dr. Edward Mahama, David Apasera and Bernard Mornah.

For General Secretary, Atik Mohammed, Emmanuel Wilson Jnr.

National Organiser, Abu Ramadan, Desmond Ntow and Treasurer Akane Adams, Haruna Mohammed and Benjamin Bediako.

Janet Nabila and Elizabeth Amedekenya picked nomination forms for Women Organiser’s position.

More Politics »

This article has 0 comment, leave your comment.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login