Delegates’ Names Missing From Register

Several eligible voters in the Brong-Ahafo Region could not exercise their franchise in Saturday’s NDC primaries to elect parliamentary candidates and endorse President John Dramani Mahama because their names were not found in the NDC voter register.

In the Sunyani East and West constituencies, the elections began smoothly at 7am and ended at 5pm. There were no major incidents except that more people could not find their names in the register. As at 12:20pm when DAILY GUIDE reached Penkwase West Islamic School Electoral Area, out of 359 registered voters, only 57 had cast their votes. The electoral officer, Justice Peter Andow, told DAILY GUIDE that eight people couldn’t vote because their names could not be found in the register though they had their national and party identity cards.

At New Dormaa East where two polling stations were merged, the electoral officer, Boadiwaa Audrey, told DAILY GUIDE that as at 1:02pm 108 voters had cast their votes while 16 people were not allowed to vote.

At Canteen Electoral Area near the NDC regional office, nine polling centres were merged.

As at 1:30pm 220 people had cast their votes out of 754 registered voters. Five people could not find their names when DAILY GUIDE arrived.

Agents of contestants for Sunyani East, Kwesi Oppong Ababio and Collins Mahama, were at all the centres. At close of polls, the Municipal Chief Executive, Kwesi  Oppong, won with 2,480 votes whilst his challenger, Collins, had1,871.

In Sunyani West the situation was not different. At the Presby Electoral Area, as at 2:04pm, 190 people voted out of 424 registered voters and 10 people couldn’t vote because their names weren’t in the register. Samuel Justice Adjei beat his challenger Kofi Manu with 2,594 votes whilst Kofi had 844.

The big guns in the B/A went unopposed so voting did not take place in their constituencies. They include the Regional Minister, Eric Opoku, Asunafo  South; Local and Rural Government Minister, Collins Dauda, Asutifi South; and Alex Kyeremeh, Techiman North. Former AFRC Chairman Maj (rtd) Boakye Gyan won in Jaman South.

[email protected]
FROM Daniel Y. Dayee, Sunyani

More Politics »

This article has 0 comment, leave your comment.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login