Cabinet Ministers: Mahama sacrifices Dzifa Ativor

To ensure regional balance in his cabinet, President John Dramani Mahama has decided to replace Transport Minister Dzifa Ativor with Water Resources, Works and Housing Minister Dr. Kwaku Agyeman Mensah.

A statement to the Speaker of Parliament Friday by the Secretary to Cabinet, Mr. Roger Kwesi Angsomwine announced the president’s decision to recall the Water Resources Ministry back to Cabinet.

The ministry was kicked out of cabinet barely a month ago when Dr. Kwabena Donkor’s Power Ministry was added. 

Ghana’s Constitution enjoins the President to appoint not less than 10 and not more than 19 members into his cabinet. To keep the Works and Housing Ministry in cabinet at the time meant the president was violating the country’s constitution.

During the debate on the President’s State of the Nation Address this week, the Member of Parliament for Sunyani East, Kwesi Ameyaw Cheremey drew the attention of the President to a possible constitutional breach about his nomination into cabinet, Joy News’ parliamentary correspondent Elton Brobbey reports.

According to the MP the composition of cabinet must represent regional balance, noting that when Dr. Agyeman Mensah was reshuffled from the Health Ministry, he lost his cabinet status leaving no representative from the Ashanti Region in cabinet.

Subsequently to ensure a regional balance Dzifa Ativor who is from the Volta Region has been replaced with the Water Resources Minister who hails from the Ashanti Region.

Below is the full list of Cabinet ministers
Ministry of Interior
Ministry of Roads and Highways
Ministry of Education
Ministry of Defence
Ministry of Finance
Ministry of Power
Ministry of Food and Agriculture
Ministry of Health
Ministry of Communications
Ministry of Environment, Science, Technology and Innovation

Ministry of Petroleum
Ministry of Justice and Attorney-General Department

Ministry of Water Resources, Works and Housing
Ministry of Trade and Industry
Ministry of Lands and Natural Resources
Ministry of Employment and Labour Relations
Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Regional Integration

Ministry of Local Government and Rural Development
Ministry of Gender, Children and Social Protection

More Politics »

This article has 0 comment, leave your comment.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login