Akatsi-North Assembly fails to elect PM

Ave-Dakpa, Oct 08, GNA – The 18-member Akatsi North District Assembly at its inaugural meeting Tuesday failed to elect a new Presiding Member, (PM), after three rounds of voting.

Mr. Patrick Ahiabu, the former PM of the Assembly, who was the sole candidate for the position, polled nine votes in favour and nine against in the first round.

Mr. Ahiabu, a farmer and also an elected member for Ave-Dakpa, could only manage 11 votes in the second and third rounds of voting, one vote more to meet the required 12 or two-third majority of the Assembly.

Mrs. Sena Okiti-Duah, Deputy Minister of fisheries, representing President John Mahama in the inauguration, asked the Assembly members to be ready for the task of development, fight corruption, reflect the interest of their people and avoid going back to bed.

Mr. James Gunu, District Chief Executive of the area, said progress being made in the district justifies its creation about three years ago.

He commended all stakeholders for their commitment and asked that they sustained their efforts.

The Assembly will convene in two weeks for another attempt to elect its PM.


More Politics »

This article has 0 comment, leave your comment.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login